In this section

Meet the team at Leeds Trinity University, from our Vice-Chancellor, Executive and Leadership Team who are responsible for the day-to-day management of the University, to our honorary Chancellor and Pro-Chancellors, Board of Governors and Honorary Fellows.


Professor Charles Egbu, Vice-Chancellor of Leeds Trinity University. You can find out more about our Vice-Chancellor here.

The Executive

  • Professor Charles Egbu, Vice-Chancellor
  • Professor Malcolm Todd, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Phill Dixon, Chief Operating Officer
  • David Butcher, Director of Finance and University Secretary

Leadership Team

The senior leadership team at Leeds Trinity 

  • Professor Charles Egbu, Vice-Chancellor
  • Professor Malcolm Todd, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Phill Dixon, Chief Operating Officer
  • David Butcher, Director of Finance and University Secretary
  • Professor Paul Ryan, Head of the School of Social and Health Sciences
  • Catherine O’Connor, Head of the School of Communication, Business and Law
  • Professor John Leach, Director of the Institute of Childhood and Education
  • John Hawksworth, Director of Human Resources
  • Julie Dodd, Director of Marketing, Communications and Recruitment
  • Len Windle, Director of Estates and Facilities
  • Mark Joyce, Director of Information Services
  • Claire Newhouse, Director of the Centre for Apprenticeships, Work-based Learning and Skills
  • Emma Murphy, Director of Student and Academic Services
  • Ruth Wilson, Director of Student Support and Engagement
  • Dr Mark Fogarty, Director of Academic Partnerships


  • Actor and playwright Deborah McAndrew, Chancellor of Leeds Trinity University


  • Ed Anderson, Lord Lieutenant of West Yorkshire and Rt Hon John Battle

Board of Governors

  • Jamie Hanley, Chair of Board and Governance & Nominations Committee
  • The Rt Reverend Marcus Stock, Bishop of Leeds, Ex-Officio Chair of the Board
  • Jason Aldiss, Board of Governors
  • Justine Andrew, Board of Governors and Chair of Remuneration Committee
  • Mark Brockbank, Board of Governors
  • Roohi Collins, Board of Governors
  • Michael Feely, Board of Governors
  • Thelma Ford-Escobar, Board of Governors
  • Andrew Gilliland, Board of Governors
  • Aidan Grills, Board of Governors
  • Chelsy Grooby, Board of Governors
  • David Haslam, Board of Governors
  • Martin Holden, Board of Governors
  • Professor Charles Egbu, Vice-Chancellor
  • Richard Marchant, Vice-Chair of Board and Chair of Finance & Resources Committee
  • Emily Reed, Board of Governors
  • Liz Richards, Board of Governors and Chair of Audit Committee
  • Sue Rix, Board of Governors
  • Paul Southern, Board of Governors
  • Craig Williams, Clerk to the Board of Governors
  • Amy Wilson, Board of Governors
  • Mark Wilson, Board of Governors

Honorary Fellows

  • Jude Arbuckle, Honorary Fellow
  • Reverend Kate Bottley, Honorary Fellow
  • Professor Freda Bridge, Honorary Fellow
  • Stephanie Burras CBE, Honorary Fellow
  • Dame Louise Casey DBE CB, Honorary Fellow
  • Dr Mike Coughlan, Honorary Fellow
  • Ian Dawson, Honorary Fellow
  • Sister Marie de Carmel, Honorary Fellow
  • Dr Edward Echlin, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Margaret Emsley, Honorary Fellow
  • Chris Fields, Honorary Fellow
  • Paul Forbes OBE, Honorary Fellow
  • Simon Gallacher, Honorary Fellow
  • James Hagerty, Honorary Life Fellow
  • Dr Mary Hallaway OBE, Honorary Fellow
  • Tim Hodgson, Honorary Fellow
  • Professor Kevin Hylton, Honorary Fellow
  • Sally Joynson, Honorary Fellow
  • Iby Knill BEM, Honorary Fellow
  • Dorothy Koomson, Honorary Fellow
  • Ben Lawton, Honorary Fellow
  • Canon Keith Madeley MBE, Honorary Fellow
  • Mark McGreevey OBE, Honorary Fellow
  • Sylvia Myers, Honorary Fellow
  • Professor Gervase Phinn, Honorary Life Fellow
  • Professor Edward Spiers, Honorary Fellow
  • Professor John Sullivan, Honorary Fellow
  • Hannah Thaxter, Honorary Fellow

Articles of Association

The University has Articles of Association incorporating Instrument and Articles of Government.

This is the governing document that defines the University's aims and objectives and how the University undertakes its core functions.


Download the Remuneration Committee’s Annual Statement

Governance Effectiveness Review

Download the latest Governance Effectiveness Review Action Plan Update below.