This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more here     Accept
Find us +44 (0)113 2837100



Students celebrate exceptional staff with the first Student-led Staff Awards

Posted on 26 May 2016

news:Leeds Trinity Students' Union, news:Student life

​​Staff excellence was recognised by students ​​​​at the inaugural Student-led Staff Awards, with over 100 staff and services receiving nominations.

The event, organised by the Students' Union and hosted in The Lounge on Thursday 26 May, celebrated staff and services that have made a notable difference to students' time at Leeds Trinity University. Over 260 individual nominations were placed, highlighting the excellent quality of care and attention given by staff within the University.

The shortlisted nominees were chosen by a panel consistin​g of students and staff from the Students' Union. Rather than select winners based on the number of nominations received, the panel based their decisions on comments made by students during the nomination process. 

Stephanie Little, President of Leeds Trinity Students' Union, said: 

"The student led staff awards were designed to give students the chance to thank those members of staff who have made a positive impact upon their university life. There are so many members of staff who go above and beyond, and although they don't do it for the recognition, I think it is great that we can give some to them."

"This is the first year we have ran the Student-led Staff Awards and they have been a great success, with almost 300 nominations coming in for around 100 different members of staff across the University. Next year we hope to see these awards grow even bigger."​​​

All 101 nominees received a mug to mark their success, whilst all shortlisted nominees received a small award. The 4 nominees who were each selected as winners were then awarded trophies. 

After the success of the 2016 Student-led Staff Awards, the Students' Union now plan on making this an annual event. 

The full list of winners and nominees:

Best Teaching Award

James Jackson - winner

Lindsay Eastwood

Andy Gilliand

Cathryn Keighley

Student Experience Award

Keith Balfour - winner​

Helen Bromley

Patricia Kelly

Bernadette Broderick

Professional Service Award

​Debbie Clarke - winner

Lisa Wright

Judith Atkinson

Brett Arnall

Services Award

​​Facilities Department - winner

​Information Services

​​The Learning Hub

School ​of Social and Health Sciences