This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more here     Accept
Find us +44 (0)113 2837100

Catholic Certificate in Religious Studies

Leeds Trinity University > Catholic Certificate in Religious Studies

​​​​The Catholic Certificate in Religious Studies (CCRS) is an important qualification if you'd like to teach in the Catholic sector.

About CCRS

Leeds Trinity University offers students the opportunity to take the CCRS. This optional short course is validated by the Board of Religious Studies for the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales, and the University administers the Certificate on their behalf.

What is the CCRS?

The course is designed primarily for those in teacher training, the qualification is an additional requirement for those teaching in the Catholic sector. The certificate seeks to ensure that those who hold it ‘have a basic understanding of the Church, its teaching and way of life to enable them to contribute to the maintenance of the ethos of the Catholic school'. Increasingly, it's also a useful qualification for those wishing to work as School Chaplains, or in other support roles in Catholic schools. 

How does it work?​

The qualification consists of six core modules, and two specialist modules. All eight modules must be completed within five years of starting the first module. You'll be assessed by one, 1500 word essay for which guidance and bibliographies are supplied.

Six core modules 

The six core modules are Old Testament, New Testament, the Church, the sacraments, Jesus Christ, and Christian morality.​ These modules are taught in pairs – one in the morning, one in the afternoon – across three Saturdays each term. In addition a set task that's administered via Moodle must be completed. Some students take two modules each term, while others take one module each term. The Board of Religious Studies requires that students attend all of the teaching sessions in order to be eligible to submit assessment for the module. You must pass all six core modules in order to gain the certificate. 

Two specialist modules

The two specialist modules currently offered at Leeds Trinity are:
  • learning and teaching in Catholic schools
  • ethos in Catholic schools​
For those students on the PGCE Primary Education and PGCE Religious Studies courses, these modules are taught as part of the RE module and separately assessed. Alternative arrangements are available for other Education students.​ Further specialist modules are currently being designed.

Fees and funding

The CCRS is currently offered free of charge to all Leeds Trinity students, including PGCE and Schools Direct trainee teachers. We welcome external students at a cost of £65 per module. 

In addition, there is a one-off registration fee of £20 that all students must pay themselv​es. This is for the national registration with the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales.

Find out more​

Further information is available from Senior Lecturer in Catholic Studies, Patricia Kelly on +44 (0) 113 283 7100 ext. 631 or​

Ways to connect